Rainy Day Roundup

Since I’m eating Sundrops, which is highly appropriate since in typical Portland fashion it is rainy and sunny all at the same time, and procrastinating, I decided that a shout out to all the crafty artists who’ve made the great handmade gifts we’ve received this year would both take some time and be an inspiration.

yummy

yummy

This is what I'm supposed to be working on. Ah! Procrastination.

This is what I'm supposed to be working on. Ah! Procrastination.

My mom has been really great about respecting my wish for handmade gifts and has since become a real up and comer in the Clan of the Etsy Trolls. For Valentine’s Day she got lavender/gray/black heart leg warmers for my littlest Queen Bee and a really cool monogrammed felt envelope from Chic Baby Rose for PZ.

heart-legwarmer

For PZ’s third birthday our friend Cory gave her an awesome felt salami sandwich from Pickle Things. (Full Disclosure: Cory and Pickle Things’ Stephanie are roomies. Thanks guys!) My mom got her the cutest little wooden spindle dolls painted up to be Goldilocks and the Three Bears from Fancie Fannies and some other friends of ours were inspired by The Handmade Experiment to give us all the supplies and recipe for bubbles in a big blue bucket. Yeah! I can’t wait for summer!

putting the sandwich together

putting the sandwich together

time to eat rock 'n roll stylz

time to eat rock 'n roll stylz

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Then when my parents came to visit us this month, my mom shopped at Chic Baby Rose (repeat customer!) again and got the Lolly Dolly Baby Doll for Queen Bee, and the felt popcorn and fairy hair clip for PZ.

Q and Lolly Dolly

Q and Lolly Dolly

fancy fairy clip

fancy fairy clip

movie time!

movie time!

As someone who is making a lot of handmade items right now and, of course, am starting to think I might like to one day sell some things, I just like to say, “Yeah, for handmade!!” Okay, I think I’m done procrastinating. Rocket Man won’t sew himself.

4 responses to “Rainy Day Roundup

  1. I will have to check out Fancie Fannies in particular. I am besotted with Goldilocks and the Three Bears. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I just purchased the Monsters, Inc. dolls from Fancie Fannies. My youngest loves that movie and this will come just in time for the Easter basket!

  3. Thanks for putting pictures of my felt sandwich up. It looks great. I am really glad that PZ likes it. I am going to put a post on my blog with a link to this so that people can see the food in action.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Oh Great! I tried to send you the pictures with the message I sent, but they were too large and I was headed out the door. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

