Spring Cleaning: Which Handmade Cleaning Supplies are a Must Have this Spring

As an ode to the first day of spring, (yes, I know I’m a tad late), and a perfect list for that “I’ll do it Monday” mentality, here are my top 9 of 2009 Spring Cleaning handmade buys.

sewingmomma

These storage bins from Sewing Momma are sew cute! I love all the fabrics and that they can be rolled down to size. I’d love to see a tutorial on that one!

The kitchen scrubbies from Laksaware come in lots of cool colors, are eco-friendly and super functional. I think they’d look adorable in a handmade Easter basket. Scrubby Hunting anyone?

Bacon and Eggs Pocket Apron

Snappy Shop makes the retro-cool Bacon and Eggs Pocket Apron. They have a ton of cute apron designs that just scream to be worn. If that doesn’t inspire you to do the dishes, nothing will!

Crochet Maggies Ocean Waves Dish Cloths

Okay, these dish cloths from Crochet Maggie totally make me want to dust off the old crochet hooks. She makes really soft looking face cloths, too. And, MAN, the yarn colors are awesome! The walls of my kitchen are Mediterranean Blue and these cloths would be spot on!

Broomchick kitchen brooms

Broomchick, out of Eugene, make excellent all-natural brooms. Hubby and I actually jumped one during our wedding ceremony and then I bought one for an acquaintance’s wedding which I ended up not attending, and somehow now I’ve got two! Great brooms! If your house is storage deficient, like mine, it helps to have even the broom be a work of art.

soft & cozy lavender and mint dryer sachets

Another great gift for the Easter basket, Soft & Cozy hand sew each of these lavender and mint filled laundry sachets from recycled vintage fabrics. Very cool and I bet they smell great! These would be lovely for me, because we stopped using dryer sheets last year as one of our steps toward living greener and now we use those dryer balls, so no fresh from the dryer smell to our clothes anymore. Hubby has mentioned that he misses that more than once.

This tulip inspired soap from Epically Epic Soap is some of the prettiest I’ve ever seen. It is an Olive Oil based soap with a fresh floral scent and I know the exact tulips she is talking about. Just looking at this soap makes me want to go for a walk in the garden. What a lovely example of the everyday exotic.

Murdock Designs says they make handmade deliciousness and with these brilliant colored tea towels I can see that they do. They are 100% linen and I just love the details. A gal could feel quite spiffy in a kitchen with towels like these!

I just heart retro fabrics, and Peanoonies hit the mark with their fun clothes pin bag. Gives me hope that maybe someone will be inspired to hang their clothes on the line outside. Save some energy, while you use a super cute laundry accessory. Sounds just about right to me.

Well, I hope you enjoyed the list because I enjoyed making it. Knowing there is so much creativity out there truly does inspire me…to make stuff, not to clean. Ha! I’ll leave that to Hubby. Happy cleaning and yeah for spring!

4 responses to “Spring Cleaning: Which Handmade Cleaning Supplies are a Must Have this Spring

  1. Thanks so much for featuring me in this great blog post! I love those sachets and that amazing soap. :)

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      You are totally welcome. Thanks for making such great handmade goodies. oh, And for commenting. I love comments! :)

  2. Thanks so much for including my scrubbies!
    Great Spring picks! That apron is simply adorable!

  3. emilyflippinmaruna

    we love your scrubbies! A lot of people have said they liked this list.

Leave a Reply

