Cowgirl Small and Frog Britches

I should have posted this a while ago, but am just getting to it now. End of January, I had little Hannah’s third birthday to make something for. I wanted to try my hand at a simple sewing project, my first in two years, and I remembered that one of Hannah’s favorite books was Cowboy Small by Lois Lenski. I found Jackie Clark’s Britches and Bloomers pattern and some cute cowgirl fabric from Fabric Depot. Not only were these the first pants I’d ever made, it was also my first experience making ruffles. It was actually pretty easy! My favorite part of the project though, was the pockets. I am quickly realizing just how important using an iron is to press as you go.
cowgirlpants2
cowgirlpantsside
cowgirlside

After the success of the Cowgirl Small pants, I decided I wanted to make a pair for PZ. I found the cute frog fabric at Cool Cottons. They are super comfy and would be great done in flannel, which I’m thinking of doing for my youngest. They are almost like pajama pants.

PZ's pants

PZ's pants

My one complaint about the pattern is the crotch is SO low. This would work great for those kiddos still in diapers, especially ones using cloth, but on PZ it runs pretty long. A minor issue. I’m sure someone with more experience would know how to tweak the pattern. Anyone? Anyone?

Leave a Reply

