Sugar and Slip Stitchery

easter-eggsThese came out pretty cute. I used Kristen’s tutorial from Sew, Mama, Sew. My challenge with these was the hand stitching. Once I figured out how to do a slip stitch I was good to go. I whipped up six of them in just a couple of hours. Super easy! And then stitched them up this morning while my kiddos ate breakfast.

We had a great day over at our friend’s house, even if it did rain. We did the egg hunt (inside), which was the first hunt we’ve done with PZ and she did really well, and we ate a great lunch and decorated cupcakes and filled any lingering holes in our bellies with jellybeans. Quite a fun, sugar-filled afternoon.

She's giving her best Easter Bunny grin.

She's giving her best Easter Bunny grin.

Not that we particularly needed any more sugary treats after eating the yummy apple spice cake with cream cheese frosting at PZ’s little buddy E’s birthday party on Saturday. Scrumptious! And although I had to leave early to take hubby to the eye doctor (the baby gave him a good poke in the eye on Friday), PZ tells me that E liked his present so much he gave it hugs and kisses. Very sweet, even if she was just buttering up Mama.

I was pretty excited about this one. E has an awful passion for trucks and cars and trains. He knows all the train names from Thomas and all the car’s names from the movie, Cars. But I also knew that he has plenty of that stuff and wanted to make him something cool without resorting to cartoon covered fabric. I thought about making him a car pillow, reminiscent of the rocket ship I made for K, and was even going to use his favorite Richard Scary auto as inspiration. Until I came across London Mummy’s skittle tutorial and remembered how much he’d liked playing with PZ’s bowling set.

bowlingpins

These also involved a bunch of hand stitching, but I really liked the final product. I got to use some vintage fabric with airplanes on it, given to me by my mother-in-law, and the orange corduroy circles on each end of the pins was from a jumper I bought when I was 18. I also used Alexander Henry’s Traffic Jam to appease the boy’s gear headed leanings.

Overall, except for that whole poke in the eye thing, a very nice weekend. But enough with the rain already. Let the sun shine!

2 responses to “Sugar and Slip Stitchery

  1. Hey, your skittles looks fab :) So glad my tutorial made sense! Impressed with your Easter eggs too, I must say.

    Best wishes
    Esther

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Hi Esther,

      Thanks! Your tutorial was super easy to follow, I’m so glad I found it. The little boy I gave it to really likes it, too. So much fun making things for kids.

      Thanks again,
      Emily

Leave a Reply

