In no way perfect, but…”

Every time I go to show someone one of my finished sewing projects, these are the words I say, “It’s in no way perfect, but…”. Part of me is sad that I feel I have to somehow justify my work like this. The other part of me thinks it is hilarious that even though I KNOW the piece isn’t perfect, I still can’t wait to show it off! I’m so excited to have created something, I can’t help but love it flaws and all. So, keeping that it mind…pzinsmock

I made this smock using Amy Karol's Bend the Rules Sewing book

I made this smock using Amy Karol‘s Bend the Rules Sewing Book. I was originally thinking it would work for Q to go with the bloomers I made from Heather RossWeekend Book, but it was WAY too big. Fits PZ quite nicely though, and since she is pretty much convinced that everything I make should go to her this worked out.

pzsmock3

pzbackofsmock

Speaking of Q, she has decided that spoon feeding is no longer an option. She must feed herself. So, until it is warm enough for her to go shirtless at the dinner table I figured we’re going to need a lot more bibs in the house. I copied the shape from Jenny Ryan‘s Sew Darn Cute book, but where she calls for adding an iron-on vinyl to the fabric I chose to just leave the cotton plain. I’ve found that the vinyl bibs work better for older kids, whereas when they are still young enough to make BIG messes it is best to be able to throw it in the wash. Just my preference.

bibs21

bibs

One response to “In no way perfect, but…”

  1. Pingback: My First Quilt Thingy! « The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

