Your Tip for Tuesday

Over 450 of you commented on my May Giveaway Day Beginning Sewing post. You guys rock! It was great reading about your first sewing projects: the skirt sewn on backwards, the funky 80’s culottes, the crooked tote bags. A lot of you have only been sewing a short while, perhaps putting the knitting needles and hot glue guns down to try a new craft or simply wanting to sew clothes for your precious little ones. It started me wondering what advice I could share…Once I realized that my top 10 sewing tips really amounted to 1. The iron is your friend, I wised up and called in the big guns!

Fellow Portlander, Amy Karol is the author of Bend the Rules Sewing and the soon to be released Bend the Rules with Fabric. She is also the well-loved blogger of Angry Chicken. (Pretty much if you have a craft blog, Angry Chicken is on your blogroll and if you have a craft library, Bend the Rules Sewing is on your shelf. If its not it should be!) I introduced myself and The Handmade Experiment and asked for her help.

Amy was really encouraging and with some email “big hugs” she passed on this top sewing tip…

“My #1 advice is don’t make it up as you go. I think so many new sewers don’t want to fail, so they don’t use patterns because they are afraid they won’t do it right, so they avoid them. This can lead to so much frustration. Patterns and books are tools to help (of course I’m going to say this because I have written 2 sewing books) but learning enough to be comfortable is key. That’s when it’s fun, after you take the time to learn the basics. Sewing has been around for so long, there is no reason anyone should try to reinvent the wheel. All the answers are out there if you look and ask.”

Thanks Amy! Words to live by people. :)

6 responses to “Your Tip for Tuesday

  1. I really need to break down and buy that book!! I have been avoiding buying it because I keep telling myself I can learn everything I need on the Internet, and my bookshelves are already full of cookbooks, but I think I am going to break down. It just seems like the right book for me, I love to “bend” the rules! Thanks for the shove!

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Amy’s book was one of, if not the first sewing book I bought on this Handmade Experiment adventure. I was tempted for the same reason, Toni. I like “bending” the rules, too. I learned a LOT of great tips and there are some really fun projects. Check out the smock I made for PZ!

  2. I’ll get it from my local library first – but I am sure it will join my bookshelves soon after. Also congrats for being a winner yourself – I saw it on MoonCat Farms Meanderings. :)

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      thanks Kristi! When I find out my mystery prize I’ll make sure to show everyone what I got. :)

  3. Pingback: Twitted by trueup

  4. Pingback: True Up » Archive » Linky Tuesday

Leave a Reply

