Meet My Machine

It is Sewing Machine Month at the Sew, Mama, Sew! blog and they are inviting us to talk about our machines. They’ve provided the questions, so all that is left is to provide the answers…

My Machine

My Machine

What brand and model do you have?

I have a Viking Huskystar 224

How long have you had it?

hmmm…maybe 7 years.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

I don’t think they make it anymore. I feel like I paid around $600 for it, but I could be off. I checked and saw used ones were selling around $300 now.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Mostly clothes, toy, and accessories. But I’m planning on starting to do some quilting.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

Well, I didn’t sew at all for like the first 6 years I had it. HA! But since January I’ve been sewing on it a couple times a week if not everyday.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I really like my machine. I recently had to take it into the shop for the second time since January. I was sure it was going to take forever to fix and be some big problem. But, just like last time I took it in, the good folks at Montavilla Sewing Center fixed it while I stood there. This time I’d somehow poked a hole in my bobbin cartridge. Last time I was just a doofus and couldn’t get my feed dogs to come back up. Basically I’ve discovered that she runs great if I clean her occasionally. Who would have thunk it?!?

But I borrowed my friends Janome for a day or two while mine sat at my feet “broken”, and realized just how much I really, really love my machine. So much more intuitive and easier to use! Plus it has features that her machine didn’t have and is so pretty! :) A name has just come to me. She’s my Mustang Sally. Ride Sally, ride!

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

The needle up/down button, the speed control, the drop-in bobbin cartridge, the one-step buttonhole foot, needle threader, and thread cutter. Plus there are a LOT of different stitches which I’m just now starting to investigate, thank you so much Sew, Mama, Sew! for inviting to me do this meme and get to know my machine as I go. :)

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

hmm…I wish the light were brighter, but that’s probably because most of the time I’m sewing in near darkness!

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

My sewing machine was the first BIG purchase I made with money I’d earned.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Definitely! Although I’m not sure why they are no longer making it. I remember the salesperson telling me that the machine could sew through denim which was a clincher for me at the time. I just think it is a really intuitive first machine that works hard, has more features than you would expect, but nothing that I don’t need. I just really love it!

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Durability, cost, not so many bells and whistles that you’re overwhelmed, but not so few that you aren’t pushed to learn and try new things. And I think finding a really great shop with good repair people and classes to buy your machine from is important too.

Do you have a dream machine?

Not really. I can’t say my eye has wandered and now that I had my chance to experience a different machine, I think I made the right choice. Perhaps in a few years I’ll change my mind, but until then I think my machine and I have a great working relationship.

2 responses to “Meet My Machine

  1. Pingback: Meet My Machine | learnexcelfast.info

  2. Pingback: Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List

Leave a Reply

