Saturday ‘citement!!!

Man did we need it! It was a L-O-N-G night. Actually it has been a long week. First week of no preschool and PZ gets sick! We’ve gotten out of the house just once this week. Now Q is sick and PZ is still coughing. My machine was “broken” last week and I didn’t get a chance to try it out until Tuesday, which was my one kind of productive day this week.

shorts for PZ

shorts for PZ

I made these out of a 2 fat quarters I got from bundles at Bolt. I actually had them already sewn together, they just needed hemming and the waistband and tag put in. (PZ complains if I don’t put a little ribbon in the back where the tag should be. Fair enough. She still has trouble figuring out which way to put on her pants, so the tag is a big help!)

rooster pocket on PZ's pants

rooster pocket on PZ's pants

PZ"s cockadoodledoo pants

PZ"s cockadoodledoo pants

These actually just needed hemming and the waistband put into them as well. So, like I said, only kind of a productive day. But hey, two projects finished! I also got most of a hat for kiddo S finished. Just need to make two grommet holes and add some string. Of course, I seem to have lost my grommet hole maker somewhere in the mess that is my craft room. (When it gets this messy I can no longer call it a studio with a straight face.) I’ll show you the hat, which is a really cool tri-corner bonnet, as soon as I can get it together.

Thursday, the day we got out of the house!!, I got a tiny bit of sewing done. I tried my hand at sewing knit fabric. I need to make both of the girls some cute “fashion” T-shirts, and wouldn’t mind having a few more for myself either. This was my first try at that. I used a Gymboree shirt as a template (the yellow one). It was going okay until the collar where I forgot to turn the shirt right side out and ended up sewing the elastic thread on the outside. Ooops! I feel a lot more comfortable now that I’ve given knit a go and will be experimenting more with this in the future.

yes, the yellow one is dirty. the blue one is mine (can you tell!) :)

yes, the yellow one is dirty. the blue one is mine (can you tell!) :)

Saturday was the best day of the week, hands down. First off, even though I was up most of the night with a baby who wouldn’t sleep or nurse and just kept moaning, I did get to take a nap from 11:30am until almost 1pm. Awesome!! Secondly I got this fantastic book in the mail! From Australia!! With tape that had cute little elephants eating popcorn on the packaging!!! And a super duper cute lion card that told me to “go wild” on the inside!!!

Machine Made Patchwork

Machine Made Patchwork

makes me want to try quilting!

makes me want to try quilting!

such adorable purses!

such adorable purses!

the whole thing is filled with adorable projects!

the whole thing is filled with adorable projects!

Thank you SO much Candice! She was sweet enough to send me HER copy after corresponding through email during the May Giveaway Day spectacular and discovering I was having trouble finding the book here in town. Talk about amazing!! It was like I won something on my own giveaway!! Check out her store, Moomi. She’s a sweetheart!

*note to Candice – Thank you, thank you, thank you. I promise to use it and cherish it and really would love to do some sort of global quilting bee when we both get a minute.

Well, after PZ calmed down and we’d looked at google maps and found Australia which somehow made her wonder about outer space, so we had to look at pictures from the Hubble telescope, I finally got to check out my lovely new book. It is called Machine Made Patchwork and is a Japanese craft book. I’m not sure of the author, but here’s the ISBN4-579-11020-X. I’m pretty sure this book has been translated into English, but my copy is written in Japanese. If I need any help translating I’m going to go over to Moving Hands and use the Japanese sewing and pattern terms glossary they’ve compiled.

Speaking of May Giveaway Day, I also got my prize from Jules at MoonCat Farms meanderings, a mystery stash surprise! I think the package actually got here on Friday, but I didn’t find it until Saturday. Thanks Jules for the lovely fabric, notions, and good smelling sachet. My craft room may look a mess, but it smells wonderfully of lavender!

thanks Jules!

thanks Jules!

While I’m showing fabric, I might as well show off the cool vintage fabrics my friend, Cory gave me a few weeks ago from SCRAP. They’ve been sitting in my laundry room waiting for a wash. Now that they’re all clean, (don’t mind the wrinkles!) I can let you see them.

thanks Cory!

thanks Cory!

more knit to play with

more knit to play with

awesome nautical scraps

awesome nautical scraps

I think these nautical scraps must be from an old cheater quilt which I’ve just learned about recently from True Up. Too bad I don’t have the whole thing! These scraps are so cool. Thanks, Cory!!

So, YAY! for Saturday ‘citement (and yes sometimes I DO talk like my 3 year old.). Next week, I should have one more fun prize to show from the May Giveaway Day and last night I started 5 new projects. I hope to be able to show you some more handmade goodness made by my own little hands soon! Now I’ve got to go look for that grommet hole puncher.

2 responses to “Saturday ‘citement!!!

  1. I love these fabrics Cory gave you. yay for you! :)

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      they’re great, right!?! Don’t have anything planned for them yet, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something. :)

Leave a Reply

