My First Quilt Thingy!

Well  it’s not perfect, but… what a journey I’m on. If you’d have told me in January that I would make a quilt this year I probably would have laughed. Here it is though and I am so thrilled with it, wrinkles and puckers and all.

I used Lizzie House Ducks for the back and Forest as the focus.

I used Lizzie House Ducks for the back and Forest as the focus

Erin from house on hill road contributed this picnic blanket with rock pockets tutorial to Sew, Mama, Sew!’s Summer Sewing tutorials in 2008. When I saw this post a couple month ago I knew I wanted this to be my first quilting project. I’ve always wanted a great blanket for picnics, the rock pockets are simply genius, and I knew it would be a push to my skills. Now I’m hooked! I can’t wait to try another quilt. Maybe something small for the Craft Hope project. Maybe something BIG for my 7th year wedding anniversary in September. Who knows! I’ll let you know when I’ve figured it out. What a journey. Thanks for sharing the sights.

All folded up and ready to go

All folded up and ready to go

Everytime I look at all the fabrics together I smile.

Everytime I look at all the fabrics together I smile.

picnic

12 responses to “My First Quilt Thingy!

  1. Nice job Emily! I love making quilts – my artistic outlet, and they don’t have to fit anyone. I love seeing what you’re making.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Thanks Mariko! I’d love to see your quilts. Do you have pictures posted anywhere? I saw your ultrasound pics. Looks like your latest creative endeavor is coming along beautifully! :)

  2. Looks great! I am just getting into making quilts, too. So much fun picking out fabrics, isn’t it? I love all the Lizzie House prints, too.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Thanks Toni! Picking out the fabrics was both lots of fun and hard work, too. My brain kept getting stuck after the 4th fabric choice. Going from using two maybe three fabrics in clothes to choosing 8 in this quilt was a change in thinking. Thankfully my Hubs gave me some good direction and Pam at Cool Cottons fabric store was encouraging. All the Lizzie House fabrics are great! I’d love to see pics of your first quilt. In fact I think I’m going to do a call out for first quilt pics. I’ve got an idea!

  3. Pingback: Remember Your First? « The Handmade Experiment

  4. Pingback: Two for Two « The Handmade Experiment

  5. What a wonderful quilt…congratulations!

    PS…Perfection is overrated ;)

  6. Hi just typed in quilt thingy as a joke.. and here you are

    Don’t take this the wrong way, I’m glad you’re here and sharing.

    Im trying to find my mom a something to quilt better but couldn’t come up with anything but thingy.

    for better or worse, you are at the top of google search for quilt thingy

    thanks Randy

  7. Pingback: What I’ve Got Planned… « The Handmade Experiment

  8. Pingback: 2011 « The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

