Inspiration Wednesday – Wardrobe Refashion and Trashion Nation

Wardrobe Refashion is this great blog all about restyling something unwearable into something fabulous. To join the fun, you must take a pledge to not buy anything new for 2,4,6 months etc. up to LIFE (you choose how long you want to pledge for) and to restyle something from your closet or the thrift shop at least once a week posting about it on the blog. You are allotted ONE Get Out Of Jail Free card that you can use every two months just in case there is some awesome sale or some item you just can’t live without. Here are some of my favorites.

piecesofyoujacket

Men’s suit jacket refashioned into flattering cowl-neck ladies tunic. By Pieces of You.

astronettedress

Tiny dots t shirt, ruffle jumper & psychedelic tights made by Astronette.

outsaPop Trashion

Dress made from men’s ties handsewn together and a secondhand corset. The train is 2,5 m long. By OutsaPop Trashion.

OutsaPop Trashion also helps admin the Trashion Nation – New Stuff From Other People’s Trash Flickr group. I found some great artists here doing everything from clothing and accessories to sculpture, furniture, and toys. It’s truly fascinating!

catbishop

Carney Baby vintage toy xylophone boy 1000 Pieces no. 108 by Cat Bishop.

2732983444_0c3e5243d8_m

eco.scarf made from a glorious repurposed vintage linen tablecloth, and quilted with fresh new batting. By rikrak.

mobile

Cut from the sides of various beer and wine bottles–aspen, elm, ginkgo leaf mobile. By Western Art Glass.
I’m not sure I’m quite ready to take the pledge at Wardrobe Refashion yet, but I’m working my way there. I’ll have to get better at BIG girl clothes first, not just kid’s stuff. I do like to recycle as much as I can in my projects, not only is it cheaper, but I can’t help but love all the old vintage fabrics and notions. I did my time working and running resale clothing shops, so for me that is “old hat”. Ha! But some of the stuff these crafters come up with is just amazing. I’m so inspired. How about you? What inspires you to create? Do you have a favorite recycled material?

2 responses to “Inspiration Wednesday – Wardrobe Refashion and Trashion Nation

  1. I love them all…especially the old blazer…

    well…ALMOST all…the baby doll arms kind-of scare me a little…

Leave a Reply

