Ebook from Craftypod

*comments closed

Diane Gilleland, aka Sister Diane, is one of Portland’s top crafters and craft authors. Her podcasts, tutorials, tips and tools have helped guide many crafters and small business owners through the murky waters of the handmade movement.

That is what this blog is about too. I started this whole experiment as a test. To see if I could really do it. Teach myself to sew, learn how to read patterns, find a community and a group of people that help to spark my creativity and inspire me to learn and do and handmake more.

And the more I’ve learned the more I’ve tried to share with you. So what could be better for my Sew, Mama, Sew December Giveaway Day contribution then a chance to help Sister Diane spread the word! Diane has graciously offered up one of her ebooks (winner’s choice!) for giveaway and all you have to do to win is leave a comment here before Sunday December 6th, (midnight PST) telling us which ebook you would be interested in winning and why.

For an extra chance to win please leave a second comment telling us your favorite crafty charity. I know a lot of people are feeling the need to reach out this holiday season and your comment might give someone the information they need to do some good.

Diane, along with Susan Beal, Linda Permann, Kayte Terry, Betz White, and Patricia Zapata are helping reach out by donating 15% of each sale of their new ebook Crafty Tree Trimmings to Project Linus. They’re a nationwide charity that collects handmade blankets for children who are suffering from serious illness, trauma, or otherwise in need. This ebook will be on sale only until December 31, 2009!

Thanks for reading this past year. Make sure to check out Sister Diane’s podcasts and tutorials. Her book Kanzashi in Bloom is on sale now. And good luck! I’ll pick the winner at random and I’ll announce it on Monday. Good luck!

121 responses to “Ebook from Craftypod

  1. Would love this one:

    Creating a Blog Audience: An Unconventional Marketing Guide + Worksheet Pack

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Hi there – I’m pleased to have found your blog via the giveaway day post. Nice choice for the day! I’m still just new to the crafting side of my life, but I’m currently working with Quilts for Kids, which provides quilts for children in hospitals. Giving back is so important, and it seems the more people I meet in the crafting world, the more generosity I see. If you select me, I would be interested in the following book: Making a Great Blog: A Guide for Creative People + Worksheet Pack. Thank you so much!

  3. I love all of the ebooks. I would have to choose either the crafty tree trimmings or Making a Great Blog. I can always use more Christmas tree ornaments and I can also use helpful tips on my blog. Thanks for the fun giveaway!

  4. My favorite charity is Safe Haven for Cats. It is a no kill cat shelter in North Carolina. I adopted my second cat from them and they are wonderful. They are not a crafty charity, but a great one.

    As far as a crafty charity, I would choose Threads of Compassion. They deliver scarves to victims of sexual abuse.

    http://www.safehavenforcats.org/

    http://www.threadsofcompassion.bravehost.com/

  5. I’d love the crafty tree trimmings ebook. Thanks for the giveaway!

  6. Thanks for the links and giveaway!

  7. I love craftypod! I’m interested in the crafty tree trimmings ebook!

  8. Oh, the link are great, THANKS! And this giveaway is great!

  9. I wish I was in Portland, too – I love Savannah, but my new grandbaby is there in Portland! I make up for it by reading all things crafty and creative from that great area, and you have a great blog. I have the Kanshazi in Bloom book, and have folded stacks of my formerly forlorn scrappy pieces! Thanks for the give-away!

  10. Deanne Johnson

    I would be most interested in “Making a Great Blog”
    I realize the advantage of having a blog but am clueless on how to go about setting up and maintaining a blog. This book looks like it might inspire me to explore this great new tool.

    Thanks for participating in the giveaway.

  11. Well, I would need the “making a great blog” book… But I’ll prefer the “crafty tree trimmings” one !

  12. Crafty Tree Trimmings looks the most fun!

  13. The Crafty Tree Trimmings book looks wonderful!

  14. Awesome. I have “Making a Great Blog” and would love them all, but especially “Social Media for your Crafty Business.” I’m horrible at all that Facebook-y stuff!

    Cheers!

  15. Definitely the Crafty Tree Trimmings book! It looks wonderful!

    My favorite craft charity is our local hospital. Thanks so much for hosting the giveaway!

  16. I’d like the crafty tree trimmings book because I really want our tree to be full of handmade ornaments. I am slowly working my way there but could always use new ideas!

  17. I like the Toy Society and Project Linus. Social media for your Crafty Business.

  18. I’d love that book. I too want to handcraft everything on the tree. I am getting a start this year by knitting several ornaments.

  19. Oh I’d love to win this :)

  20. That book looks great!

  21. That crafty tree trimmings book looks so cute!

  22. The weaving book is cool, because it says “easy”.

  23. I love the crafting tree trimmers book.

  24. every year, i make new ornaments for our tree, so i think that the crafty tree trimmings ebook would be perfect!

  25. I could use “Making a Great Blog.” Thanks for the giveaway.

  26. Oh, I could so use any of those ebooks, Social Media for your Crafty business, might just have to duel with Crafty Tree Trimmings…good stuff!

  27. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ebook from Craftypod « The Handmade Experiment -- Topsy.com

  28. Oops, delete the last comment? I want “Making a Great Blog” because I have read the other two books and they’re both fabulous. I love Sister Diane! She’s a superstar!

  29. I’d love Crafty Tree Trimmings.

  30. such a tough choice! i think i’d pick Making a great blog. I think it’s great that Project Linus will benefit from this. I tried to make a scarf for the Winter Special Olympics, but could not find delft blue yarn anywhere! everyone had bought it all! I love that Project Linus provides all kinds of crafted blankets for wee ones! i’m going to start one soon, using the crochet pattern on the site. Thanks! :)

  31. All titels are interesting, but maybe I’d learn most from Weaving I think…

    My favorite charity is called PLAN and it’s where I have my “adopted kid” and his village/family. They get money every month.

  32. Crafty Tree Trimmings, please! :)

  33. The tree trimming book looks interesting?!

  34. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  35. That crafty tree trimmings book looks pretty awesome! I need some new ornaments!

    kellyjo(dot)haines(at)gmail(dot)com

  36. I think I’d like the crafty tree trimmings book, as I’m scouring for ideas for ornaments to make people this year.

    My dad was recently diagnosed with stage 3 Hodgkins Lymphoma and is undergoing chemotherapy. He recently lost his hair, and I haven’t looked into many hat charities but it doesn’t seem like there are a whole lot of manly chemo hats out there. That would be a great charity if it existed.

  37. Hmm… The Social Media one looks interesting but I think I’d have to go with “Creating a Blog Audience”…for obvious reasons, haha.

  38. I’m always looking for ways to improve my crafty business. So I would like the chance to win “Social Media for Your Crafty Busines.” Thanks!

  39. I really want the Crafty Tree Trimmings book. I’m so excited about the thread trees.

  40. The Creating a Blog Audience would be great around here. I listen to crafty pod and read Daine’s blog, she always has good tips

  41. One of my favorite crafty charities is making small quilts for preemies. There’s no official name or web-site, I got the info through the (semi) local quilting guild. The quilts need to be small (3′x3′) so they’re great for trying new techniques. I’ve only donated one so far because I’m sloooooooow, but I have a couple more in the works.

  42. ooo . i would LOOOOOVE to win the crafty trimmings book.
    i live in sudan so you can’t buy tree decorations here very easily. (or cheaply)
    and you can’t buy/borrow from library nice books to look at and inspire.
    and you can’t get them sent over without risk of it being stolen, so an EBOOK WOULD BE/ IS SUCH A COOL THING. Yay for your giveaway.

    Zag Rags is a charity here in Sudan. It was started some years ago. Sudanese women with little /no other income make (sew) cool toys, clothes, bags etc etc from fabric that is often dyed by them, or ‘african’ style fabric bought from other places.

    Because their market is often tourists etc, their stuff can be sold for good prices which allows thenm to have a reasonable income. My daughter has the coolest doll that i bought from them a year ago.

  43. Ooh the Crafty Tree Trimming book looks wonderful. Thanks for the chance to win!

  44. Maybe it’s the season but I’m into Crafty Tree Trimmings for sure. :)

  45. I’ve seen the weaving unloomed book before and thought it looked like a lot of fun to play around with.

    Thanks for participating in giveaway day!

  46. Ooh, I’ve had my eye on the Great Blog book for some time. Thanks for the giveaway!

  47. I would want the Crafty Tree Trimmings ebook, because I’m in holiday crafting mode right now.

  48. I’d really love her Making a Great Blog e-book. I am starting a new store and just about to set up a blog. I **think** the basics, but I’d love to read what Sister Diane says about blogging and social media.

  49. This is probably one of the most useful giveaways out of all of the giveaways! I think I’d like the Making a Great Blog ebook.

    Michelle
    michelou[at]gmail[dot]com

  50. Making a Great Blog! I’ve had my eye on this one for a while!

  51. I enjoy making holiday placemats for our Meals on Wheels to hand out ;)

  52. I would love the Crafty Tree Trimmings book. Thanks!

  53. I need the making a great blog book. I have three blogs two of which I just started mostly for my own benefit but I do want other people to enjoy them.

  54. I would love the crafty tree trimmings ebook. I am in the holiday mode right now. Thank you for the chance to win. I hope you have a wonderful Chirstmas. -dez
    simply.simon.sisters(at)gmail(dot)com

  55. I’d love the Crafty Tree Trimmings book! Thanks for the chance to win.

  56. Oh so hard to choose. I love the idea of making my blog something more. so perhaps one of the blog books, I just can’t choose.

  57. I would choose Crafty Tree Trimmings. Very excited to hear about the donations to Project Linus as well..way to go, ladies!

  58. I would also choose Crafty Tree Trimmings. Thanks for the chance!

  59. it is that time of year for tree trimmings, that looks like a great one!

    If you can’t access my contact info via this comment you can contact me through http://www.crackpotshop.com

  60. My fave is crafty tree trimmings!

  61. I think the project linus charity is pretty cool!
    I love that you’re donating 15% of your profits!

  62. Gosh, those ebooks are great! I think I would have to choose between one of the blog ebooks or the Crafty Tree Trimmings book. Thanks for the giveaway!

  63. I would love Crafty Tree Trimmings! It looks like an amazing book! Thanks for a great giveaway :)

    mc.crafty.bunny at gmail dot com

  64. I love making Christmas crafts as presents, so I’d love the Crafty Tree Trimmings. Thanks for the opportunity!

  65. I would love the crafty tree trimmings book! What a great contest! Glad I found your site.

  66. I’ve had my eye on the crafty tree trimmings ebook for a while now! I love Patricia Zapatas website!

  67. I think I’d go with the crafty tree trimmings. Thanks for the giveaway!

  68. What great resources! I would definitely choose “Creating a Blog Audience” as I am still new to blogging and could use the help! Thanks for the chance to win!

  69. I have two favourite crafty charities at the moment. One is a local residence for single moms and their babies who need a place to stay. My friends and I visit every few months to do crafts with the moms and some of us watch the babies too so they can have a break. The other is a baby-shower for mother’s in need. Although not necessarily crafty-related, I use it as an opportunity to use my skills to create things for those who really need them (and making baby things is so much fun!) We collect all of the items at the shower, package them in gift bags, and then they are delivered to Moms who need them in our city through the local Early Intervention organization.

  70. I love the “Crafty Tree Trimmings”.

  71. Thanks for hosting this giveaway. I think your sister’s book How to make a great blog would be awesome to win. Happy Holidays.

    Jane

  72. I’d love the Crafty Tree Trimmings book as my kids are now old enough to appreciate a Christmas tree and making ornaments for it!
    I like to support Tear Australia with my crafty works, they work to help those in developing countries and one of the ways they do it is by helping women run their own small businesses (including craft businesses).

  73. Weaving Un-Loomed sounds like a ton of fun! Thanks for the opportunity!

  74. Hi there
    Cute cute
    My favorite charities are the NICU wards, hero quilts, konker cancer and linus quilts.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win the crafty tree trimmings
    cheers
    Catie

  75. I love the crafty tree triming book but I have been trying to figure out what my blog I haven’t even started yet should be about, how I would write and so on. SO the “Making a Great Blog: A Guide for Creative People Making a Great Blog: A Guide for Creative People + Worksheet Pack” would just be perfect for me! Thank you for this opportunity!

  76. i would go for the crafty tree book cues i love the craft book
    even though all the other books are intersting 2 and one day i would like to try them out in order to get my self and my crafts in to buisness
    thanks!

  77. I would love the Making a Great Blog ebook. I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months, but I’m definitely in need of ways to make my blog more interesting, visually and in my writing.

  78. My favorite crafty charities are Project Linus and Binky Patrol. Children are such an important part of this world, and organizations that care for those with no one to care for them are just so wonderful.

  79. I’d go for Crafty Tree Trimmings, because the Christmas lights are getting to me, and because I don’t have time for a blog.

  80. I would choose the tree trimming ebook. I don’t have a blog or business for my crafting pleasures, so the ornaments would better suit me.

  81. I tend to work with local charities mostly. One, Hospital Chaplancy, donates handmade items to nursing homes around our state of Maine.

  82. these books look so cool!
    thank you!

  83. shanghaicowgirl

    Crafty tree trimmings please! What a great website – I’ve never seen it before this giveaway – lots of new reading for my feeder!

  84. this is a great giveaway idea – both the ebook and the charity ideas

    Having bought both Diane’s blog related ebooks I can highly recommend them. They are easy to read, have great manageable concepts and worksheets are super helpful.

    I would definitely love a chance to win her social marketing book as well.

    thanks for sharing

  85. I hope Crafty Tree Trimmings is a possible ebook to win. I want to have ornaments made for my son’s second Christmas next year. Thanks for giving.

  86. i would love to win the ebook on creating a blog audience. i was reading about it a couple of weeks ago so your timing is perfect!

  87. I would love to win this!! Please count me in.
    Happy Holidays!
    h_freund@Hotmail.com

  88. Creating a Blog Audience sounds like a great book! I would love a chance to win it! :)

  89. i’m a big fan of Diane G and thank the seen-better-days Craftstylish blog for my introduction to her and Craftypod. I’d love the weaving e-book –it could keep Kanzashi in Bloom company. only Diane could get me interested in weaving.

    i have recently participated in a project teaching kids to sew pillowcases for Ronald McDonald House, which gives the pillowcases to kids being treated for cancer, and i would like to keep that up. good all the way around — you pass on some sewing skills, you help kids share with other kids, and just maybe you do something to make an ill person feel even a little bit better.

  90. I would love the crafty tree trimmings book. I’m always looking for little projects to deck out my house for the holidays and Project Linus is such a wonderful cause! Thanks for sharing!

  91. probably the tree trimmings one, because the others don’t really apply. i’m terribly intrigued by the weaving one, but i just do not have the time to learn another craft (really, i don’t have the time to fit it in in addition to my other crafts!!!). and thank you for this–i used to go to church of craft and i had no idea sister diane had crafty ebooks! fun!

  92. oh! fav charity is probably project linus. i work with many kids who were preemies and i can always tell which is their project linus blanket from the NICU!

  93. I’d really like the “Making a Great Blog” book. I’m not a blogger … yet, but I’d like to try. And as for a good crafty charity, my mom knits cute baby hats that are donated to needy moms through an organization called RSVP (Retired Senior Volunteer Program) … I think there are branches in lots of places. I don’t knit, so I buy Mom’s yarn for her, making it a joint project.

  94. I’d LOVE to have the “Making a Great Blog” book…

  95. I would love the Crafty Tree Trimmings book. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  96. I’d love Crafty Tree trimmings please :)
    Our tree is sadly lacking in that area.

  97. i’d probably have to go for the crafty tree trimmings book. awesome! *grin* thanks for the opportunity to enter your awesome giveaway :)
    cheers
    sarita0818 at comcast dot net

  98. Wow, I could really use that book! I’m going to an ornament party and still have no idea what I’m going to make!

  99. I would love the Creating a Blog Audience ebook! Thanks for the chance to win!

  100. Quilts for Kids is my favorite quilting charity. I’m hoping to donate a few this year!

  101. I really like the Crafty Tree Trimmings ebook. I’d love to make more of our Christmas decorations!

  102. Hmm. I just noticed I commented above as my husband (Scott Terry). Oops!

    My favorite crafting charity is Oddball Baby Blankets which I just started knitting for! :)

    Leah ~ terrytribe AT gmail DOT com

  103. they all look interesting! I’d take any.

  104. Oh I’d love an ebook, technology is amazing!

  105. Crafty Tree Trimmings because I’ve been using the same ornaments for so many years!

  106. My favorite charity is lottie moon – which is a mission organization providing the Good News of God’s Grace to those in foreign countries!

    Love the book!! Awesome giveaway!

  107. I’d pick the Crafty Tree Trimmings. I’m always looking for crafts to do with my girls :)

  108. Pingback: Fancy Pants « The Handmade Experiment

  109. I think the bst book for me would be Making a Great Blog–Creative People. Thanks for the super giveaway!! Merry CHRISTmas

  110. Candace Henderson

    I would be interested in social media for your crafty business. I am thinking about starting my own business. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  111. I would like Creating a Blog Audience — man, I need help with this! Thanks for the chance to enter!

  112. My favorite charity group is the Preemptive Love Coalition. They help fund heart surgeries for Iraqi and Kurdish kids who would die without them and have no chance for this level of medical treatment inside Iraq. A group of ladies at church have gotten together to make security blankets for some of the 47 kids they’ve helped over the past few years.

  113. I would take the Crafty Tree Trimmings – looks great!

  114. My charity crafting is mostly for a local charity that makes layette sets for preemie babies. Most hospitals will accept blankets and layettes, which provide comfort and kindness to families with a tiny tiny baby born to them.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  115. Social Media for your Crafty Business would be my choice! What a great give Away. Thanks for the chance to win.

    If you have time stop by my blog for a mystery Christmas apron give away :)

  116. Ohh, I’ve been wanting that book to give me new ideas for the holidays. I’m a bit burnt out this year.

  117. Tiffany Hanks

    Crafty Tree Trimmings because I think I would get the most out of that book. thanks!

  118. I think I’d like the Crafty Tree Trimmings ebook… great giveaway!

  119. I think the Creating a Blog Audiance sounds interesting.
    seemommysew @ gmailDOTcom

  120. would love the crafty tree trimming. I make handmade ornaments every year to give away as christmas gifts and this will be a great addition to my library!