How To: Buttermilk and Brown Sugar

As you might remember from my week of cooking, I’m not a huge fan. Baking on the other hand, I love! So after another long day at home with a sick kid, just one this time, I was more than ready for a little baking. My healthy, extremely enthusiastic, and mostly helpful baker-in-training PZ and I decided to bake one of our favorites – pumpkin bread.

I’d already pulled out the can of organic pumpkin puree, had the butter and egg out on the counter and was reaching for my flour when I realized I was missing a few ingredients. Uh-oh! No buttermilk or brown sugar! Instead of freaking out, (which is what I would have done if I’d been cooking!) I decided I was being provided with a perfect opportunity to teach PZ (and any of you out there who may not know) how to make a good substitute for buttermilk and the best, fluffiest brown sugar around.

First the buttermilk substitute. Unless Hubs has been making cornbread, we don’t keep buttermilk on hand. This is a super easy and effective substitute. To make a cup of buttermilk simply measure out a cup of regular milk and add a tablespoon of vinegar. Just let that sit for 10 minutes or so.

You’ll know its done when you can see that it has curdled. PZ had seen me do this a bunch of times so she wasn’t that impressed, but she got super excited when we made the brown sugar. Once again it is super easy and quick. Just take a cup of white sugar, I use organic cane sugar, and add a tablespoon of molasses. I always keep a jar of molasses on hand just for such an occasion. You can either mix it together by hand with a fork or do it the easy way with an electric mixer. PZ and I chose the lazy, I mean easy way.

See, she was very excited. Did I mention she was an enthusiastic helper? Well, we put it all together, added some chocolate chips ’cause that’s how we roll, and ended up with a scrumptious, not too bad for us, pumpkin bread. Yay!

Here’s the pumpkin bread recipe in case you’re hungry…

1 1/2 cups flour (I usually use 1 cup all purpose and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry)

1 1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 egg

2 tblsp butter, softened

Preheat oven to 350. Sift all the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Add the sugar, egg, butter, pumpkin, and buttermilk and stir until well blended. (This is where I add 1 cup chocolate chips) Grease a 9×5 loaf pan and pour the batter in. Bake for approx. 1 hour or until a toothpick poked in the center comes out clean. Enjoy!

 

One response to “How To: Buttermilk and Brown Sugar

  1. Pingback: Weekend Creative | The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

