A Tutorial for Tuesday – Hanging Fabric Bucket

Over the weekend, we did a bunch of reorganizing in our tiny kitchen. We only have three drawers and no pantry. I’m just saying. Anyway, Hubs put one of those metal shelving units in and we put all of our pots and pans and whatnot on them, but we needed more storage for smaller items.

“A-ha!”, I thought. My chance to do a fabric bucket has arrived. I’m pretty proud of myself on this one. Usually I need a tutorial or a pattern of some sort and if I go off on my own things go horribly awry. This time I was so confident, I even took the time to make my own tutorial. I know. I know. There are a ton of fabric bucket tutorials out there, but this one is mine and is slightly different because it has a loop for hanging. Ta da!

You can make this bucket any size you want, but I did mine 11.5 x 22.5. I knew it needed to be wide enough to hold our rolls of tin foil, cling wrap, and parchment paper and tall enough not to dump them out. Whatever size you decide to make, just take the circumference (the width) of your bucket fabric (in my case 22.5) and divide that number by 3.14.  Round up to get the diameter (width) of your circle (in my case 7.25). This will be the bottom circle of your bucket. If you are using a compass, you will then want to divide your diameter in half to find the radius and set your compass to this number. I just did a free hand circle because I’m crazy like that and you don’t have to be too exact with this project, especially if you’ve rounded up.

Okay, if you are like me you are now completely daunted by the math. Don’t be! This is a super easy project which should take you an hour or two max. Believe me, if I can do it so can you! All right, here we go!

Supplies

  • Fabric for outside and circle bottom (in case you are interested, my fabric is from IKEA)
  • Fabric for the lining and circle bottom
  • (if you need the bucket to be stiff you should also have interfacing)
  • Fabric for bucket loop
  • Scissors
  • Sewing machine or needle and thread for hand stitching
  • Pins
  • Iron
  • Pinking Shears (optional)

Step 1 is cutting out your fabric – Cut out your outside fabric, your lining fabric, 2 circles for the lining and outside bottoms, and your loop. (cut out your interfacing if you are using it). My bucket’s measurements were 11.5 x 22.5 for the outside and lining fabrics, 7.25 for the outside and lining circles, and my loop was 2.25 x 7.25 of my outside fabric. If I had used interfacing it would have been 11.5 x 22.5.

I've cut my outside and lining fabrics

I've cut my circle bottoms and loop

Step 2 is making your bucket “tubes” – Iron all your fabrics before sewing. (If you are using interfacing now is the time to iron it onto the wrong side of your lining fabric.) Fold your outside fabric in half, short sides together with right sides facing, and sew the two rough edges together using a 1/2 inch seam allowance. Using your pinking shears, cut the edge down to 1/4 inch and iron down. Do the same with the lining fabric.

I'm sewing my bucket's outside fabric basically making a tube.

I've sewn and sheared my lining fabric's edges and have now ironed them down.

Step 3 is pinning and sewing your circles bottoms onto your bucket tubes – Pin the corresponding fabric circles to the tubes, right sides facing. (Make sure if you are using a fabric that has a right side up, that the circle is at the bottom). Sew the circles onto the tubes using a 3/8 inch seam allowance. If you have never sewn in a circle like this, don’t panic! Just put your machine on a turtle speed and go slowly. Keep your needle down and stop to lift your pressure foot up and scoot your fabric often. You can do it! Make sure to check that your circles are completely attached before moving on to the next step. Trim your edges.

I've pinned the bottoms to my tubes.

I'm sewing my circle bottom onto my bucket tube.

Slow and steady wins the race!

My finished bottom.

Step 4 is making your bucket loop - Take your loop fabric and turn and press your long edges over 1/4 inch. Now fold the loop in half long edges together wrong sides facing. Topstitch along the long side edges.

I'm folding and pressing my loop fabric. You are ignoring my gross ironing board cover. ahem.

I've topstitched the long side edges of my loop.

Step 5 is putting it all together – Turn one of your fabric tubes outside in and place the other tube inside, matching up the seams. Your tubes should have their wrong sides facing. Now turn and press the top edge of each tube 1/2 inch toward it’s wrong side. Take your loop and fold it in half so the short edges are together. Pin it into place along the bucket’s seam. Now pin the edges of your bucket together and topstitch closed. That’s it. You’re done! Take a picture of it and send me a link. Enjoy!

I've pinned my loop into place and my bucket's edges together.

I've topstitched the edges together.

I'm done. Yay for my fabric bucket!

4 responses to “A Tutorial for Tuesday – Hanging Fabric Bucket

  1. Love it! Thanks for sharing-I think I can make this!

  2. emilyflippinmaruna

    Thanks Chacoy! Make sure and send me a link after you make it. I’d love to see what you do. Let me know if you have any questions.

  3. That is the cutest fabric! I love the bright colors.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      thanks Jenn! Ikea of course. I don’t remember where I got the yellow with white polka dots, but somewhere here in town.

Leave a Reply

