Sewn With Love Sew-Along Step 2: Making Up the Body of the Dress

Sorry this has taken so long to post. I’ve had the sewing part done for awhile now, but the blogging part to me longer. Okay, so Step 2 in our Sewn With Love Button-Through Dress Sew-Along is all about making up the body of the dress. (Look here and here and here if you need to catch up). We get a lot done in this step so please let me know if you’ve got any questions about anything.

First thing we do is lay out your ironed back piece right side up. Take one of your front pieces and place it right side down on top of the back piece, lining up the arm holes. I found that, because I’m such a great cutter, my back piece was longer than the front. As long as the arm hole parts line up, you can cut the bottom edge to line up later.

I've placed the right sides of one of the front pieces to the back piece and pinned.

Make sure the arm holes match up.

Once you have it lined up, pin it along the side edges. Sew the sides together and repeat this process with the other front piece. Now that both front pieces are sewn to the back piece, finish off the rough edges.

I've sewn the front and back pieces together, finished the raw edges with pinking shears and pressed them down.

Sew two gathering (basting) stitches along the top edge of the back piece and both front pieces. You want to keep long strings on the ends of all your stitched lines. If you’ve never gathered before, check out this tutorial.

I've basted along the top of the back piece and left a long string for gathering.

I've finished my basting seams and am ready to start gathering. *Note where I started each seam on the back piece.

I've gathered the back piece.

Now that you’re done gathering the back piece, its time to push it between the flaps of the yoke. Make sure that when your back piece is tucked in between the yoke the right side of the fabric is going in between the right side of the back yoke. (I messed this up the first time and had my dress pieces inside out after sewing. Oops!) Pin and sew.

I've put the back piece in between the yoke and pinned it. Make sure your back piece is on the back of the yoke.

I've sewn the back piece to the yoke.

You’re ready to do the same thing to your front pieces and the front part of the yoke. I suggest working with the lace side up so you don’t sew your lace by mistake. Pin and sew the front pieces to the yoke and you’re done with step 2!

I've gathered and pinned the front pieces to the yoke.

This is what it should look like from the inside with all your pieces put inside the yoke.

I've sewn the front pieces to the yoke - step 2 finished!

I’m done sewing step 3 so I’ll try and get the sew along posted some time this week. How is everyone doing with their dress? I’d love to see pictures when we’re all done!

Leave a Reply

