It Was a Good Day…

It was practically like Mother’s Day around here today. Wonderful! Hubs finished the deck he’s been working on for the past week and a half and so took the kids off my hands for the afternoon. Bliss! I slept in, finished the book I’ve been inching through, took a walk on this glorious sun shiny day, ate lunch BY MYSELF at a little local cafe, and made myself a dress!

Check out Hubs' work on the new deck!

I have had this red dress, that I picked up at Pin Me Apparel, for several years. It was made by a local designer, but if there ever was a tag it is long gone now. Sorry! Tagless or not, I am constantly getting compliments on it and have been thinking it wouldn’t be hard to reproduce for awhile now. Well, when a  complete stranger complimented me on it today while I was strolling through the neighborhood, I decided that was it. I came home and got right to work.

the red dress

It really wasn’t too hard to make and probably only took me a couple hours, pattern making included. And now that I do have a pattern drawn out, I totally am going to make a few of these.

The fabric I picked up at Mills End back in March. It’s called 207 Herb Garden Botanical and was designed by Valerie Greeley for makower uk. I like it even though, or maybe because, it reminds me of my Mother-in-law’s old kitchen wallpaper. The next one I do may get more embellishment. This one I didn’t even add the tie that is on the original.

Now,  to make my wonderful day complete, its back to the Veronica Mars marathon I’ve been watching on Netflix. I totally avoided this show while it was on and now can’t get enough of it. Did you guys see that Sarah Michelle Gellar has a new show coming out in the fall? I also saw that Zooey Deschenal is going to be on the small screen in a sitcom this fall. Weird!

9 responses to “It Was a Good Day…

  1. I love the fabric and the dress!
    Ya know I have seen a lot of dishes(vintage) with a pattern like that and want the whole set!! Maybe you could come over for coffee with your new dress once I get the whole set??!!

  2. emilyflippinmaruna

    Thanks Chacoy! Sounds like a plan. :)

  3. You have done such a good job! I love both dresses. I wish I knew how to sew.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Oh, thanks Megan! Learning to sew was a long time goal for me, too. You’ll get there! Just start simple. My first project was a tote bag for my sister’s birthday. If you go back to the beginning of my blog, you can see how this whole sewing adventure began! :)

  4. Cute dresses! Love simple dresses for wearing anytime.

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      thanks Sunshine! I agree. I like a dress that can go anywhere. Plus, that means I can fancy it up with the shoes!! :)

  5. OH! No way! That dress is fabulous and so is the deck. Glad you had a nice day to yourself xoxo

  6. emilyflippinmaruna

    :) Thanks Jenn! I’ll wear it tomorrow so you can see it. If I get time I might just make another one tonight.

  7. Pingback: ROI Day 5, 6, and 7 | The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

