I’m a little bit country…

Yesterday, the girls and I were at our local library. While they hurled the gargantuan pile of books down the Book Return slot I took a step into the cooking, baking, and craft books isle. Just a peek. My eyes landed on the title southern plate, by Christy Jordan. On a whim I picked the book up and went back to check on the girls. I figured I’d end up returning it without ever trying any of the recipes. That’s usually the case with the how to books I borrow.

Pure dumb luck. This book is great! She has a website, too. We went to the first farm picnic of the summer tonight and I made FIVE recipes from this book. They were, each and every one, delicious. I made the Baked Ham, Biscuits, Sweet and Sour Green Beans, Aunt Loony’s Macaroni Salad, and the Lemon Meringue Pie. I didn’t get any photos, unfortunately, but I promise it didn’t look nearly as good as it tasted.

Christy breaks the recipes up seasonally and intersperses interesting stories about being Southern and her own family experiences. I really liked her writing. I’m from Kentucky originally and my Mom and Dad’s families are all Southern. I found Christy’s stories really relatable and entertaining.

I’m so glad I got the cooking bug today! Now I want to try a few more recipes out before I have to, sigh, send it through the Book Return slot. Maybe I’ll renew.

Leave a Reply

