Birthday Brine

I had a really great birthday yesterday. My friend Jody, her two kids, my kiddos, and I all piled into my car and took off on a big birthday adventure. We ate a yummy picnic lunch at the bottom of Bridal Veil Falls and got a chance to do a bit of exploring with our naked footsies in the cold water after.

Next we packed up and headed off to Hood River’s Waterfront Park. The kids loved the playground there and the beach leant an awesome view of the river. The water was clean and oh-so crisp (i.e. too cold to go in past my knees), but watching the kite boarders, jet skiers, and sailboats go by as well as the seagulls and osprey more than made up for it.

Then it was home again, home again jiggity jig for some homemade pizzas off the grill served up by Hubs and this little yummy for dessert – Raspberry Dark Chocolate Chip Banana Bread and it was good! We ended the night with the girls staying up late to watch SYTYCD with me. My favorite show is quickly becoming theirs as well.

Today, after a nice long walk with PZ (that 6 year old’s got LEGS!), we made pickles! Of course, I haven’t tried them yet, but they look great and were really easy to make. I think I want to try pickling some other veggies like carrots and green beans next.

And the count down begins – only 364 more days till next year’s birthday. As my friend, Nick said, “Another year ’round the sun”. Birthday wishes and hopeful thoughts for the new year! Thanks everyone who made yesterday such a special one for me. Whoo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

