Souvenirs

Home again! Home again! We had a great weekend in the country. It was a little more dusty and a little less flowery than I had pictured, but we had a blast all the same. Thank you J & P for having us!! PZ had a great time running around and has convinced herself that with the great view of Mt. Adams that we had all weekend, she now wants to do some climbing. We’ll see about that!

I also had the realization while packing that if it is going to be sunny and warm like this for awhile, I need to get sewing. My girls need cute summer clothes and I could use some new skirts and blouses, myself. So good to be away, but nice to come home and get back to my machine and my fabrics. Hmmm…can anyone say craftaholic?

Speaking of crafty, my post on Friday was so short I didn’t really get to list all the wonderful items I had in my queue. So here are some great finds that remind me of a weekend in the country and make me miss our getaway even though I’ve been home only a few short hours. Enjoy!

Dark Horse Farm Designs

Dark Horse Farm Designs

These bright and happy horses are a great way for kids to get out some energy, whether they are galloping through a horse pasture or cantering down a city lane. I absolutely love the fabrics Nancy from Dark Horse Farm Designs chose for her pretty ponies and I’m sure these would work great as both a beloved toy and a lovely decoration.

botanical creations

botanical creations

I love this pendant from Botanical Creations. I’m a sucker for a pretty daisy and this one is a beaut! You’ll be reminded of country lanes every time you wear it.

malphi

malphi

Available in sizes small to x-large, these cotton/linen blend bloomers are perfect for a peaceful walk in the country. Malphi designed these easy wear pants to be practical but with a bit of whimsy. How fun!

little red caboose

little red caboose

Little Red Caboose created this super cute picnic placemat with tree and flower fabrics. It is easy to carry, has a handy pocket for your utensils and/or napkin and you can just whip it out and have an instant picnic no matter where you are. This is fantastic! I think this would be great even for the indoor picnics we have during the winter or just a nice, easy way for a child to help set the table. She makes them in lots of different colors and patterns, so you can choose your favorite. If you like this, you should check her site now because she’s having a little sale until the end of April.

giant dwarf

giant dwarf

Available in an assortment of colors, Giant Dwarf‘s Rosette Fascinators are absolutely beautiful and enough to make any city gal feel like a lovely country lass. They are made out of wool felt and are perfect for both fancy occasions and the occasional day you just want to feel fancy. I love, love, love these! So cute, I just had to share.

Ketzelphotography

Ketzelphotography

Based out of Seattle, Gayle Ketzel creates these beautiful works of art. This one reminds me of driving past fields of green with my hair whipping around my face and my hand stuck out the open window, slicing through the air like a dolphin through a ship’s wake. A steal at any price, for fifteen dollars I think you’re getting a real deal.

Dark Artistry Spoon Bracelet Wild Rose Pattern

Dank Artistry Spoon Bracelet Wild Rose Pattern

Dank Artistry, expert spoon craftsman, wants us to live simply, laugh often and love deeply. I think this comes through in his work. This wild rose spoon bracelet is so simple and lovely it is timeless. A great find and a beautiful piece.

Retro Ruffler -Blue Kaleidescope

Retro Ruffler -Blue Kaleidescope

Marrissa Fischer of Rae Gun makes this adorable retro ruffler. Sized for kids 0 to 3T, this cotton suit will keep your little lady looking and feeling cool. I love the wild flower pattern and the yesteryear feel of this great piece. I know both my girls would look adorable romping around the countryside, ruffly bottom and all.

Wild Saffron Matchbook Notepads

Wild Saffron Matchbook Notepads

This set of twelve matchbook notebooks from Pampered Papier are made from acid and lignin free scrapbook paper. Each one has 10 white sheets inside and would be perfect for throwing in your picnic lunch and jotting down the ideas and dreams from a long, lazy day by the creek. The paper patterns are terrific and I just love how quaint and special each one is.

fidoodle country mini blocks

fidoodle country mini blocks

This mini block set is so fun and creative. I just know it would get PZ or any other kid’s imagination working. Made by Fidoodle out of Toronto, this block set fits inside a 3″ recycled cardboard tube and is made with nontoxic ink and natural materials. I love that it is both a cool puzzle and a great toy for pretend play. This would make a wonderful souvenir for any kid fresh from a weekend in the country.

6 responses to “Souvenirs

  1. What a great blog! And a lovely selection of discoveries. Thanks for including my work here. You have a marvelous talent for description!
    Gayle

  2. Pingback: Botanical Creations – Artist Interview and Jewelry Giveaway « The Handmade Experiment

  3. Hey I think this blog is really interesting đŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for loving my hobby horses as much as I do! I will be back to visit your blog.
    nancy

Leave a Reply

