Stripped Pants and Carrot Cake

moreQpants

These are the newest pants for Q (12-18mos). I made them out of more of that fabric I got at Knittin’ Kitten. It was $3 a yd for the stripped cotton and $2.50 for the floral which was about a yd of somewhat narrow remnant. I’m not sure if these look like beach comber pants or farm girl pants, maybe a farm girl at the beach! I’m getting faster at making these. With the pockets and everything these took me probably about an hour and fifteen. The first pair I did took a little over 2 hours!

I’m trying to decide now whether I should stay focused on making more clothes for the girls or should I try to make a little stash of clothes to sell. A girlfriend is having a yard sale/craft sale in a few weeks and asked if I wanted to contribute anything. I’ve never sold anything I’ve sewn before, so the whole thing seems kind of daunting. I wouldn’t even know what to price them at!! Any advice from you ladies out there making a living doing this? I could use some other thoughts besides my own.

carrotcake

My girl friend J had her birthday over the weekend. Of course she didn’t tell me about it until two days before, so the only thing I had time to make was this carrot cake. I’d never made a carrot cake before. I actually just had carrot cake for the first time at PZ’s first birthday in 2006.

You can’t see it in the picture, but this cake has some YUM! in it!! Mom got me the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion: All-Purpose Baking Cookbook for Christmas, so I got my recipe from there. I saw the recipe posted on their site with just a few differences from the one in the book. I’m hoping that means it is ok to post it here. If not, oops! For mine, I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour. I used pecans in the cake and raisins instead of coconut or pineapple. For the frosting I chose not to use either the optional nuts or ginger. Like I said, full of yum! I don’t think I’m going to use it for Q’s birthday though. A July birthday should have strawberries in it I think.

Cake

4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups (10 1/2 ounces) vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups (12 1/4 ounces) sugar
2 cups (8 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 1/2 cups (8 3/4 ounces) finely grated carrots
1 cup (4 ounces) chopped pecans or walnuts
1 cup (3 ounces) shredded or flaked coconut*
1 can (8 ounces) crushed pineapple*

*Or substitute 2 cups (12 ounces) raisins for the coconut and pineapple.

Preheat the oven to 350

In large mixing bowl, beat the eggs and add oil while mixer is running. Add vanilla, then gradually add the sugar. You’ll have a thick, foamy, lemon-colored mixture. In a separate medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices. Add these dry ingredients to the wet mixture, stirring to make a smooth batter. Add the carrots and nuts, then additional garnishes of your choice (coconut, pineapple, and/or raisins).

Pour the batter into a greased 9×13-inch sheet pan or three 8-inch round pans and bake for 45 to 50 minutes (sheet) or 35 minutes (rounds). Cake is done when tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan 10 minutes, then turn out to cool completely. Dust with confectioners’ sugar or frost with cream cheese frosting, or the icing of your choice.


Cream Cheese Frosting
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick, 3 ounces) butter, at room temperature
one 8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 cups (1 pound) confectioners’ sugar
1 cup (ounces) chopped nuts (optional)
1/2 cup (3 1/4 ounces) minced crystallized ginger (optional)
2 to 4 tablespoons (1 to 2 ounces) milk, to make frosting spreadable

Combine the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla in a medium-sized bowl and beat them together until they’re light and fluffy. Add the sugar gradually, beating well. Stir in the nuts and/or ginger, then beat in the milk a little at a time, until the frosting is spreadable.

6 responses to “Stripped Pants and Carrot Cake

  1. Cory "I'm Waiting For" McMahon

    Nice work with the frosting decor!!!

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Thanks! Hubs insisted on sprinkles. We used the cookie decorating gel for the outline. I didn’t have any orange frosting or food coloring and it got a little down to the wire time-wise. I always used to joke that carrot cakes had carrot decoration as a warning to anyone who might think it was chocolate cake beneath all that frosting. Now that I’ve actually eaten carrot cake and know the yumminess to be had, I think the carrots are just cute. 🙂

  2. carrot cake is my favorite! I love the pant’s where did you get the pattern? I would love to sew a few of these for my son. He loves me making him stuff!

    Go for it see if people are intrested in what your making!

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Thanks, Rosie! I didn’t have a pattern, just used one of her pairs of pants as a template. I just wrote a tutorial on how to make pants that I’m sure you could do. Check out the tutorials category – How to Turn a Receiving Blanket into Kid’s Pants. If you make him some, I’d love to see pictures!

  3. Pingback: May Giveaway Day – Beginning Sewing « The Handmade Experiment

  4. Pingback: Must Make Monday – Anyone Hungry for Dessert? « The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

