Book Review: Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing

51uIgtlnd5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

I finally got a chance to sit down and do a couple of projects from Lotta Jansdotter’s book, Simple Sewing. The book design is very much like her fabrics – minimalist design, organic prints, and funky colors. There are 24 sewing projects separated by the headings COOK, GO, NEST, and ORGANIZE. It probably says something about my life, and definitely my body rhythms that the two projects I chose were both from ORGANIZE. It is autumn after all. I chose the bed pocket (an anniversary gift for Hubs) and the magazine holder. 

bed pocket

The projects are labeled with difficulty numbers 1-3, but I did a level 3 project without any hassle and I am by no means a pro seamstress. I’d call myself an advanced beginner. There is a section at the beginning called FABRICS FACTS AND CARE where Lotta tells us of her preference for natural fabrics, something that is obvious when you look at the fabrics chosen and photographed for each project. Each fabric is her own design and just lovely to look at. She gives tips on using and caring for cotton, linen, and wool, but also shares information on acrylics, nylon, and rayon. She also encourages us to personalize our projects with embellishments beyond the motifs for applique and embroidery included in the pocket at the front of the book. 

I loved reading the introduction to the book written by Lotta Jansdotter herself. That she is a self-taught seamstress, a proud fabric junkie, and a mom has drawn me to her for awhile now. Add to that her Swedish design  sensibilities and simple sewing style and I appreciate her contribution to the crafting world all the more. 

magazine holder

Overall I like this book. The projects are a bit different, simpler perhaps but more modern and functionally quirky than a lot of other books of this genera. The finished project pictures are inspiring and and drawn “how-to” pictures are easy to understand. The two projects I worked on didn’t have patterns, (although several projects do and the patterns are included at the front of the book) just simple instructions that I had no problem following. I enjoyed this book and am planning on doing several other projects from it for Christmas gifts and the like before the end of the year.

3 responses to “Book Review: Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing « The Handmade … | Review Gallery

  2. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

  3. Pingback: Like I Promised… « The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

