Day 1

If you’re wondering what’s up with the title, I’m talking about elsie marley‘s kids clothes week challenge.  I worked more than my alloted one hour today (more like 5) because I wanted to finish these 6 pairs of boys pants I started over a week ago. Phew! Porkchop pocket-ed clam diggers done. Perhaps I should call them Pigs by Sea or When Pigs Swim. What do you think?

12 mos

12 mos

When I did the Rieke Art Fair two weekends ago I got a lot of feedback from Mamas with young boys. So here’s my answer to, “where’s your stuff for boys?” I’ve got sizes 12mos to 5 and will be selling these at the Stephenson Art Fair on the 19th. Tomorrow I can start working on something for the girls again. I declare jumpsuit season begins tomorrow. Stay tuned!

18 mos

18 mos

24 mos

24 mos

2-3

2-3

3-4

3-4

4-5

4-5

5 responses to “Day 1

  1. Sweet! Those are AWESOME!

  2. Hi, I found you through elsie marley flicker pool. Love these shorts! Did you use a pattern for these shorts. I actually tried to make a pair of shorts for my little guy last night…but the crotch area is funky looking. I didn’t use a pattern, but traced a pair I had on hand.

    Amy
    craftedbymama.blogspot.com
    amyhuch@hotmail.com

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Hi Amy,

      Thanks! I didn’t use a pattern, but there are lots of cute ones out there. I used the same method as in my “how to turn a receiving blanket into a pair of kid pants” tutorial. Check out Emma Hardy’s Making Children’s Clothing book. There are some good pants patterns in there and fairly easy to understand instructions. Good luck! Sometimes the crotch on the pants can get funky if you haven’t used a big enough seam allowance. Maybe that’s the problem?

  3. Fun pants!! Great pockets.

    I have a weekly Thursday blog party especially for people to share things they’ve made to be worn. Stop by if you’d like!

Leave a Reply

