It was one of those days…

the kind of day where I worked out at the gym. I got today’s blog post done and even have one written and cued up for tomorrow. I started a new crochet project AND I cooked not only dinner, but also dessert. (I can bring home the bacon…fry it up in a pan…and never no never no never let you forget you’re a man…cause I’m a WOMAN) Yep, it was one of THOSE days. The super productive kind that only comes along once in a blue moon or something!

Over the weekend I discovered a new cooking blog which I quickly fell in love with – Annie’s Eats. I love the food she’s writing about and the way she’s writing about it. A few recipes particularly caught my eye and I knew I’d be making them soon; today in fact!

For dinner I made this wonderful lasagna. I haven’t made lasagna in a LONG time. It used to be a staple in our house, but as kids came along and quick dinners became necessary, this old favorite got lost in the shuffle. Annie’s recipe is very reminiscent of the one taught to me by Kristen, my best girlfriend in high school, before we parted ways for college. She also gave me a really great New York Cheesecake recipe that I need to find, but I digress. Hubs was startled by the 3 cans of tomato paste and I was surprised by the 3 eggs, but otherwise its basically the same as what I was used to. The sauce came out great! Next time I may add a little red pepper just to give it some bite and Hubs would probably like it better without spinach.

The girls made a good dent on their portions, but PZ  informed me she was only eating it so she could have dessert. Hey, whatever works! PZ helped me make dessert so she knew what was coming. Another of Annie’s recipes, chocolate pudding. I’d never made pudding before so this was something new for me. A dessert you make on the stove instead of in the oven! Man it was good! Almost too rich. Baby Q (she’s two, but I still call her baby) was the only one able to finish her cup. I used  Scharffen Berger, the REALLY good chocolate, so it was super chocolatey. Annie does a butterscotch pudding I’m going to have to try too.

So tell me, what is your favorite food blog? Maybe this cooking thing isn’t so bad every once in a while.

3 responses to “It was one of those days…

  1. Skillet Chronicles is the best! Written by the ex restaurant reviewer at the San Jose Mercury, this is the some of the best writing you will find on the web or anywhere really. This lady lives for food, I outta know, since I call her whenever I have food questions. She’s my mother-in-law. Her house is plastered in cookbooks and she a real pro. I k ow I am biased, but try even one of the recipes and you’ll be hooked! http://Www.Skilletchronicles.com
    http://Www.ccokwithwhatyouhave.com makes sense and is written by a local foodie who teaches cooking classes that are sold out months in advance. It’s just my speed and it rocks!

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Thanks Mishel! So lucky to have such a great cook for a mother-in-law!! I will definitely check both of these out.

Leave a Reply

