Pillowcase Nightgown

This has been a crazy week. I’ve been fighting a cold since Tuesday and literally haven’t done anything since then. Luckily I finished this cute little nightgown for PZ on Monday evening. She’s been wearing it all week and I really need to get a picture of her in it.

She had asked me to make her a nightgown because baby sister has one I got at the resale shop by Mini Boden. She wanted it to have yellow roses on it. As fate would have it, I just happened to snag this pillowcase at a rummage sale last summer and see this tutorial a few weeks ago. Kismet I tell you!

In other news… I just bought a serger! I’m so excited for it to get here. I’ve been thinking about getting one for what seems like forever and I just took the plunge! Now I’ll be able to do all those cool repurposed t-shirt tutorials I’ve been drooling over. Yay!

8 responses to “Pillowcase Nightgown

  1. Oh my goodness, that pillowcase nightgown is too cute!!

    And a serger?! Lucky lady!

  2. emilyflippinmaruna

    Thanks Jenn! I know. I’m totally excited! I hope it meets the hype. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have server envy! I’ve been saving up my knit sewing and going to Modern Domestic and using their serger but really wanting one of my own. I’ll anxiously await your reviews.

  4. emilyflippinmaruna

    Don’t worry! I’ll let you know! I’ve been doing the same thing with saving up my knit sewing. I’m excited to be able to get on it!

  5. beautiful job on the nightgown! thanks for letting me know about your post. I really like how you did the loop & button closure. Smart! Congrats on the serger! I am jealous ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. emilyflippinmaruna

    Thanks Virginia! The loop and button closure was super easy. So glad you posted that tutorial. PZ loves her nightgown. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I just ordered my serger today. Tell me how you love yours!

    • emilyflippinmaruna

      Congratulations! I hope you have a blast with your new serger! I haven’t used mine as much as I’d thought I would, but I also haven’t done nearly as much sewing as I did last year. It definitely makes things faster and isn’t really that difficult to thread. My main issue with my serger is I can’t really get as clean a finish as I was hoping for. I probably just haven’t practiced with it enough. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

