Vintage Shopping Healed Me!

Not really. I actually still feel like at least 4 of the seven dwarfs, but shopping at two of my favorite thrifty spots certainly made me Happy. Hey! Happy makes five!

First off, the girls and I ventured out to the Knittn’ Kitten, Portland’s own vintage fabric store. It doesn’t get much better than this. While they played hide and seek with the enormous stuffed rabbit in the front entrance, I perked up out of my Dayquil haze long enough to spot some killer vintage lace and sequined “fancy” fabrics. I want to try to make some princess/fairy dresses reminiscent of this. If you are looking for a good tutorial for dress up skirts and want to help out a good cause, check this out.

I also found this super cute apron which I want to turn into a purse, a ribbon that would make a great guitar strap, some funky yellow and black zebra print for who knows what and a cute dress pattern that fits up to size 20! Love the vintage plus size patterns and I’m determined to do more pattern sewing in the future.

I got some great vintage cottons (the one on the bottom right is seersucker). I’m loving the turtles!

And these two terrific fat quarters for $1 each. Next I packed the girls up and we drove a little further on NE Glisan to stop at the Dollar Book store.  I picked up 27 books for $30. What a steal! And they’re all in great condition. These are just a few of the ones we got.

At least now I’ve got something to read and daydream about while I’m lying around covered in wet tissues. Fingers crossed that tomorrow I feel better!

One response to “Vintage Shopping Healed Me!

  1. Pingback: May Giveaway Day! | The Handmade Experiment

Leave a Reply

