KCWC – Day 6

It’s kind of like if you give a mouse a cookie, only in this case its if you make one of your daughters a princess dress you can be pretty sure the other one will pout until you make her one too. Thus, day 6 of the Kids Clothes Week Challenge was dedicated to making a princess dress for Miss PZ.

(This picture is horrible, but I couldn’t get her to stop watching her favorite documentary, Babies. Both girls love that movie). The skirt of the dress is a really great double gauze cotton with Tink and Peter Pan on it. (Another favorite movie). The top is the same blue linen I used for sister’s sleeves yesterday only I’ve used alternating hot pink and pearl pink thread for the shirring and I used a pink and white striped linen for the straps. The purple sequined sheer fabric I gathered at the ends and sewed on as part of the strap so they hang down her shoulder a bit. Best I could do to add a bit of sparkle. I’m hoping to add wings to both girls dresses, but don’t have any wire (and no, I don’t have wire hangers either. We wouldn’t want it to get too Mommy Dearest over here).

Quinby wore her princess dress out and about today, so I’m no longer concerned that it will spend more time on the floor than on her body. Of course, that means the dress is already in the wash after having had OJ and pancakes liberally applied to the front of its skirt.

In other news, look what I got last night. Bangs! I’ve never had short bangs before and I’m totally in love with them. Yay! BTW: My best gal pal Cory from Freecycle Jewelry made my fascinator. You can check out some of her stuff locally at House of Vintage.

Leave a Reply

