Knits and Necklaces

Phew! I finally made it through all the blogs on the SMS May Giveaway Day. If you have some time, or actually a LOT of time, and you’re feeling lucky you should definitely check it out! If you’re looking for MY giveaway, its right here.

Now I can get back to sewing and blogging and heck!, even parenting. When the SMS Giveaway Days happen, I kind of shut down. Anyway! I’ve been trying some new stuff around here. I’ve got the new serger now, and finally sat down and pulled out some of my vintage knits to play around with. Here is what I made in approximately 15 minutes.

"cute" pose

"crazy" pose

If you look closely, you can see the necklace that PZ made all by herself. I actually think its pretty awesome and a really cool way to get your kiddos thinking in patterns.

PZ's necklace

We worked for about 2 hours on necklaces on Sunday. I pulled out all my old beads and jewelry making supplies. It was kind of neat to see all the old stuff. This was something new for the girls. We’ve made felt jewelry, but this is the first bead work we’ve done. We all got frustrated many times, beads rolling off the elastic string, Quinby choosing to toss more than floss. But we got through it and both girls are very proud of their work and so am I.

Here’s a last picture of the knit dress. I wanted to show a close up of it so you could see the cute vintage fabric. It’s blue alligators at the beach! This was another Knittn’ Kitten find from awhile ago.

3 responses to “Knits and Necklaces

  1. Pingback: UFO Sewing Project and another possible giveaway | The Handmade Experiment

  2. They turned out amazing(both the necklaces & dresses) and that fabric looks, not only adorable but comfy!

  3. The creativity is catching! Chase came home from school talking about PZ’s necklace and made me get down what few beads I had so he could make a necklace for himself!

Leave a Reply

