It’s Wednesday. What’s For Dinner?

Hubs is in LA today. I decided since it’d be just me and the girls for dinner I could try a meat-free meal. I saw this last night and it looked mighty good! Does anyone else troll Pinterest at night for tomorrow’s dinner ideas? I didn’t think it was just me.

I followed Jules’ recipe, but added two peeled and chopped carrots. I think noodles and or cabbage would be really good in this, too. I can see why she says it is addictive. So simple to make (15-20 minutes max) and really easy to combine new flavors into a soup that is totally your own.

Knowing my girls would be resistant to a new dish I also baked this up. See the “Going Bananas” sign? That was me trying to frost this banana cake while also holding a crying/cranky Q and coaxing PZ to practice piano when all she wanted to do was watch TV.

The cake was also super easy to make. If you’ve been looking to add a vegan banana chocolate chip cake to your recipe file, this is a good one!

Cake:

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp aluminum free baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 medium sized ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips (I use Ghiradelli)
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch round baking pan.In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the sugar and oil, then add the mashed bananas. Add water and vanilla, stirring to combine.Add the flour mixture, stirring just until wet. Use a wooden spoon to stir in the chocolate chips.

Bake for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool for 30 minutes before removing from pan.

Frosting:

  • ½ cup Earth Balance butter
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk

Whip Earth Balance until creamy. Add sugar and cinnamon and beat for a couple of minutes. Add vanilla and almond milk. Beat until light and fluffy on high speed, about 5 more minutes. Frost cooled cake. Add more chocolate chips and/or banana slices as decoration if you want. Enjoy!

So that’s what’s for dinner at my house. What’s for dinner at yours?

Leave a Reply

