Birthday Business and Spring Palette Challenge 3

So we had PZ’s birthday party today and I managed to finish my dress in time to wear it for the big shindig. I used this tutorial, but added pockets. Its a bit shorter than I would usually wear, but I think it’ll be fine. I’ll just have to remember no bending at the waist!

It was a butterfly themed birthday party, as all of her birthdays have been, so I made this cake. I used a cake mold and this recipe. I also made cupcakes using this recipe. I cheaped out and used Betty Crocker frosting instead of making my own. As soon as I saw that the recipe called for me to use the double boiler I stopped reading and grabbed the store bought stuff. What can I say? It was already 10pm and I still had to finish the dress!

My crazy lack of cake decorating skills aside, the cake tasted wonderful! It has a lemon curd filling. Yum!

3 responses to “Birthday Business and Spring Palette Challenge 3

  1. How awesome is that cake?! The dress too! What wonderful memories PZ will have to look back on!

  2. emilyflippinmaruna

    Thanks Jenn! I think she had a really good time at the party and seemed suitably impressed with the cake. The best though was that morning when she first saw me in the dress and said, “You look beautiful Mom. Will you make me one of those?” That’s the best compliment.

  3. Awwww!! Sweet PZ! That IS the best.

Leave a comment