Inspiration Wednesday – Fantastic Mr. Fox

I just got a chance to see Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr. Fox movie last night and thank goodness I did! WOW! It was such a delight. I loved it just as much as Life Aquatic which is one of my all times favorites. From this first opening scene I was completely enthralled with all the textures and colors. My only disappointment was that I’d forgotten to bring a notebook so I could write down all my sewing ideas. This movie turned on the creative part of my brain and kept it chugging throughout the entire film.

My first view of Mrs. Fox in her yellow house dress and I fell in love. I just HAVE to make some dresses for my girls with these absolutely wonderful apron pockets. It’s both glamorous and totally useful!


See Mr. Rabbit’s awesome piano shirt? And below, Mole wears some fabulous piano key suspenders in the movie which I now want to make child-sized. How cute would that be!?! I also really like Mr. Fox’s wheat corsage in his hanky pocket.


And now I REALLY want to check out this book

If any of you have also been inspired by this movie/book, I’d LOVE to hear about it and see what you made!

8 responses to “Inspiration Wednesday – Fantastic Mr. Fox

  1. Hello,I love reading through your blog, I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wishing you the best of luck for all your blogging efforts.

  2. Do you plan to keep this site updated? I sure hope so… its great!

  3. We loved loved loved that movie! The humor, the beautiful illustrations … fantastic in every sense. 🙂

  4. I loved the dress too – so I made one! I think my avatar is me in the dress… I had to buy yellow fabric and paint the apples on.

Leave a comment