Must Make Monday – Anyone Hungry for Dessert?

Doing something a little bit different this week. We’re talking about food! I frequent a few foodie blogs and have actually been trying some of the recipes featured and thought I’d share the ones I’ve tried and enjoyed. Lots of desserts here since I’ve had a few birthdays to make cakes for.

2518109259_74ca4ba5c0

Smitten Kitchen’s Strawberry Rhubarb Pie was my first pie ever. I made it in June after we picked fresh strawberries at Kruger’s Farm on Sauvie Island. I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for white, but other than that I followed it word for word. It was scrumptious!

2965988762_386e8e24f8

I made Smitten Kitchen’s Pink Lady Cake for Q’s 1st birthday. It was a big hit! Not too sweet and just the right amount of strawberry flavor. Both of these recipes are ones I would use again.

3605504608_1a9d7b5c9a

Pioneer Woman’s Key Lime Pie. Sorta. Is one of my new favorites. So easy to make and really light and refreshing. I didn’t use Key Lime’s since they’re kind of hard to find in Oregon, and didn’t notice the difference. Yum!

pb3

I didn’t heed Pioneer Woman’s warning about her Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie. Thank goodness! This pie is so rich and peanut buttery you start to get sugar shock 3/4 of the way through a slice. And yet by mid-afternoon the next day you’re wondering how you can get the kids to take their naps early so you can raid the fridge for just one more bite. I made this pie for July fourth and didn’t miss strawberry shortcake in the least. Added bonus, both the key lime and this pie are refrigerator pies, so they are great for when the summer heat makes you shy away from baking.

1-R1557

I made King Arthur’s Carrot Cake back in May for my friend and her husband’s birthdays. (They are a week apart.) It came out really great and I’ll totally make this again.

Here are some recipes that I haven’t tried yet, but hope to soon.

homemadebutter

Homemade Butter from The Habit of Being.

icecreamjello

Ice Cream Jello from Just Jenn Recipes.

6a00d8341c589653ef011571d08d02970b-500wi

Brownstone Front Cake from Wise Craft.

basillemoncake_01_0709_x2-540x281

Basil Lemon Cake with Fresh Berries by Eat Make Read.

3627367179_647c89e4b5

Margarita Cupcakes from Heart of Linen.

3703183186_956405d4f3

Best Birthday Cake from Smitten Kitchen.

gottalittlespacetofillcookies

Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies from Gotta Little Space.

I’m thinking I might need to try that Best Birthday Cake for my own birthday next Saturday. Hmmm….cake.

5 responses to “Must Make Monday – Anyone Hungry for Dessert?

  1. they all look amazing… i’m hungry now!

  2. let me know if you try the brownstone front, you won’t regret it!

  3. Yum! I make butter all the time now. I do wash it to get out the buttermilk, and it lasts for a few weeks. That peanut butter pie looks delicious too.

Leave a Reply

